Poison Ivy

Three varieties of poison ivy are found in Québec: Toxicondendron radicans, Toxicodendron radicans spp negundo, and Toxicodendron radicans spp. Radicans. All are commonly known as Eastern Poison Ivy. Each variety of poison ivy contains urushiol, a non-volatile chemical. This allergen is released when plant tissues are damaged.

These noxious plants start to appear in spring and early summer and die back in the fall. People who become sensitized may experience irritation or serious skin reactions. It is important to be able to recognize the plant and to refrain from touching its sap directly or indirectly.

For more information

Government of Canada:

Poison Ivy

Government of Québec:

Identifying and getting rid of Poison Ivy

Poison Ivy (available in French only)

Espace pour la vie (Montreal Botanical Garden):

Learn to recognize Poison Ivy